2011 F1 Malaysia Grand Prix: Vettel Stays Unbeaten

Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel continued his perfect start to the F1 season on Sunday, winning the Malaysia Grand Prix at the Sepang International Circuit over Jenson Button of McLaren and Nick Heidfeld of Renault.

Defending world champion Vettel, who also won in Australia two weeks ago, started from the pole and never relinquished his lead despite a problematic Kinetic Energy Recovery System, which gives race cars a burst of power for a few second, starting the 29th lap. When the smoke cleared, Vettel took the checkered flag 3.2 seconds ahead of Button, who started fourth on the grid.

Heidfeld, who was only ninth in qualifying, checked in 25 seconds after Vettel, barely beating Red Bull’s Mark Webber for the final podium spot. Ferrari drivers Felipe Massa and Fernando Alonso finished fifth and sixth, respectively. Kamui Kobayashi of Sauber and McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton, who was given a 20-second penalty along with Alonso after a late collision, finished seventh and eighth, while Michael Schumacher of Mercedes and Paul di Resta of Force India rounded out the top ten.