Academy Awards Honors Hurt Locker; Bigelow and Bullock Make History

The Hurt Locker took home the most awards including Best Picture while Kathryn Bigelow and Sandra Bullock made history at the 82nd Academy Awards which took place at the Kodak Theater in Hollywood, California on March 7.


It was hosted by Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin. It was the third time that Martin hosted the show, while it was the first time for Baldwin. The last time there were more than one host for the ceremony was in 1987 during the 59th edition.

Technical Achievement Awards were handed out last February 20 and was hosted by Elizabeth Banks.

Iraq war drama The Hurt Locker edged out Avatar, the world’s top grossing film of all time, for the highest honor of the night. It also took the most trophies with 6 including Best Director for Kathryn Bigelow, James Cameron’s ex-wife. Bigelow became the first woman ever to be named as Oscar Best Director.

Jeff Bridges and Sandra Bullock finally scored their first Oscars after winning Best Actor and Best Actress. Bullock made history as the first artist to win as Worst Actress (from the Razzies) and Best Actress (from the Oscars) in a single year. Meanwhile, Christoph Waltz and Mo’Nique (also first time winners) made a sweep this year after clinching the Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress, respectively.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Honorary Academy Awards

  • Lauren Bacall
  • Roger Corman
  • Gordon Willis

Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award

  • John Calley

Best Picture

  • The Hurt Locker

Best Director

  • Kathryn Bigelow – The Hurt Locker

Best Actor

  • Jeff Bridges – Crazy Heart

Best Actress

  • Sandra Bullock – The Blind Side

Best Supporting Actor

  • Christoph Waltz – Inglourious Basterds

Best Supporting Actress

  • Mo’Nique – Precious

Best Original Screenplay

  • The Hurt Locker – Mark Boal

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Precious – Geoffrey Fletcher

Best Animated Feature

  • Up

Best Foreign Language Film

  • El Secreto de Sus Ojos (The Secret in Their Eyes) from Argentina in Spanish

Best Documentary Feature

  • The Cove – Louie Psihoyos and Fisher Stevens

Best Documentary Short

  • Music by Prudence – Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett

Best Live Action Short

  • The New Tenants – Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson

Best Animated Short

  • Logorama – Nicolas Schmerkin

Best Original Score

  • Up – Michael Giacchino

Best Original Song

  • The Weary Kind from Crazy Heart – Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett

Best Sound Editing

  • The Hurt Locker – Paul N.J. Ottosson

Best Sound Mixing

  • The Hurt Locker – Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett

Best Art Direction

  • Avatar – Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg; Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair

Best Cinematography

  • Avatar – Mauro Fiore

Best Makeup

  • Star Trek – Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow

Best Costume Design

  • The Young Victoria – Sandy Powell

Best Film Editing

  • The Hurt Locker – Chris Innis and Bob Murawski

Best Visual Effects

  • Avatar – Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones