• Home »
  • Sports »
  • Australian Neil Robertson Clinches 2010 World Snooker Championship

Australian Neil Robertson Clinches 2010 World Snooker Championship


Neil Robertson from Australia took home the 2010 World Snooker Championship title after defeating 2006 champion Graeme Dott of Scotland during the finals that finished at 12:54 AM Tuesday, May 4, at The Crucible Theater in Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England.

The final score stood at 18-13.

Robertson became the first man from outside the British Isles and Ireland to win the tournament since 1980 when Cliff Thorburn of Canada ruled the event. He is also the second Australian to top the tournament, the first being Horace Lindrum in 1952, which until today is being disputed. Completing the four non-British winners is Ken Doherty from Ireland in 1997.

“It’s an amazing feeling to be world champion after a Titanic struggle of a match,” said Robertson after winning. Aside from the trophy, he will be receiving 250,000 pounds (381,000 USD) as cash prize.

The World Snooker Championships started in 1927 with the modern era being considered since 1969. The record holder is Joe Davis who won 15 times from 1927-1940 and in 1946. Stephen Hendry holds the record for most wins in the modern era with seven titles.