Australian Open Semifinals: Andy Murray vs. Marin Cilic

Murray vs Cilic Live StreamAndy Murray defeated defending Australian Open champion Rafael Nadal and Marin Cilic ousted No. 7 seed Andy Roddick to go to the Men’s Singles Semifinals of the Australian Open on Thursday, January 28 at the Rod Laver Arena in Melbourne.

Murray is through to the semi-final after Rafael Nadal of Spain retired through injury. The Scot was leading two sets to love and was 3-0 up in the third when the World No.2 conceded the match. Great Britain desperately needs a new male Grand Slam champion to cheer on because it has been 74 long years since they had their last.

American Roddick made a painful exit at Melbourne Park, playing with an injured shoulder for five sets before losing to Cilic 7-6 (4), 6-3, 3-6, 2-6, 6-3.

Cilic is a year younger than Murray at 21 and has gone up from the Junior ranks to be at the Senior’s Semifinals. The 21-year-old Croatian has never been into the semis of a major event and now he has to prove that he can outlast other netters with Croatia on his shoulders. Murray met Cilic in the 2009 US Open and he was beaten 7-5 6-2 6-2 and exited early in the tournament.

The winner of this match will face the winner of Federer-Tsonga clash for the 2010 Australian Open Finals.

Murray vs Cilic match will start at 19:30 (Melbourne) / 8:30 GMT / 3:30 ET.

UPDATE: Andy Murray won over Marin Cilic 3-6, 6-4, 6-4, 6-2. Murray will face the winner of the Federer-Tsonga match in the championship.