Czech Republic Crowned Ice Hockey World Champions

2010_IIHF_World_Championship_LogoThe 2010 Ice Hockey World Championships concluded Sunday, May 23, in Germany, with Czech Republic grabbing the crown from defending champion Russia.

The finals ended with a score of 2-1 in favor of Czech Republic. Russia was aiming for its third straight win since 2008. Taking the bronze medal is Sweden. Host country Germany took fourth place. Dennis Endras of Germany took the Most Valuable Player award. He is the first German to be given the MVP award in the 74 year history of the tournament.

Jaromir Jagr, who scored the first goal for Czech Republic, exclaimed after winning, “This was most likely the biggest surprise in hockey history. Russia had big names, stars and we had guys who play in the Czech Republic. But this win proves that it is not just talent that matter, you have to work hard.”

This is the sixth title for Czech Republic. They previously won in 1996, 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2005. It also won another six titles as part of the former country Czechoslovakia.

The annual event took place from May 7 until May 23 in three locations, namely Lanxess Arena in CologneSAP Arena in Mannheim and Veltins-Arena in Gelsenkirchen.

The 75th edition of the games will be hosted by Slovakia next year.