Djokovic Beats Nadal for Indian Wells Title

Novak Djokovic rallied from a set down to defeat world No.1 Rafael Nadal in the final of the Indian Wells ATP tournament, 4-6, 6-3, 6-2, on Sunday in a win that affirmed his status as the year’s most dominant player.

It was the Serbian star’s first victory over the top-ranked Spaniard since 2009, and his second championship at Indian Wells following his triumph in 2008. Djokovic’s come-from-behind victory prevented Nadal from joining Roger Federer, Michael Chang, and Jimmy Connors as the only players to win the tournament three times. Nadal, who has not won a tournament since October last year, was playing his first tournament since suffering an injury in the quarterfinals of the Australian Open in January.

Djokovic has now won 18-straight matches this year, a streak that has produced three titles for the Serbian, including his second Australian Open title. Djokovic’s run has also propelled him to no.2 in the world, a distinction he clinched when he defeated Federer in the semifinals at Indian Wells.

UPDATE: Watch the 2011 French Open live online here.