FIFA 2010 World Cup Draw Results


About 3,000 people attended the 2010 World Cup Draw at the Cape Town International Convention Center, ending weeks of waiting by football enthusiasts to find out who their teams will play against in the group stage of the month-long tournament.

Organizers fielded three Nobel Prize winners including Nelson Mandela while David Beckham and South Africa’s most glamorous export, actress Charlize Theron, helped host the ceremony.

“We feel privileged and humbled that South Africa that has been given the singular honor of being the African host country,” Mandela said in a video message.

All 32 countries have been sorted into the eight separate groups that will compete in the opening round of play. Apparently the Italians were the clear winners as they face minnows in every first round test – New Zealand, Paraguay and Slovakia.

Brazil and Portugal will collide in Group G and will be joined by Ivory Coast and North Korea in what will inevitably be dubbed the ‘group of death’.

Teams in the same group play each other once, with the top two squads in each cluster advancing to the round of 16.

Here are the eight groups for the 2010 World Cup:

Group A: South Africa, Mexico, Uruguay, France

Group B: Argentina, Nigeria, South Korea, Greece

Group C: England, USA, Algeria, Slovenia

Group D: Germany, Australia, Serbia, Ghana

Group E: Netherlands, Denmark, Japan, Cameroon

Group F: Italy, Paraguay, New Zealand, Slovakia

Group G: Brazil, North Korea, Ivory Coast, Portugal

Group H: Spain, Switzerland, Honduras, Chile