It’s Netherlands Against Spain in 19th FIFA World Cup Finals

FIFA World Cup 2010It will be the first finals in FIFA World Cup history that will be contested by two nations that never won the tournament before.

Spain beat Germany in the second semi-finals match Wednesday July 7. The score is 1-0. The Iberian Peninsula nation will be facing Netherlands slated Sunday, July 11, in Johannesburg.

The last time that the finals were fought by non-champions was in 1978 when Netherlands lost to Argentina.

Meanwhile, Germany will battle Uruguay for third place on Saturday, July 10 in Port Elizabeth. Both are former champions.

The upcoming finals will also be the first time that a European nation will win in a host country that is located outside Europe.

The winner will join the elite group of seven nations who have won the FIFA world cup. These nations either came from Europe or South America. They are Brazil, Italy, Germany, Argentina, Uruguay, France and England.