Jason Mraz’s “I’m Yours” Honored at ASCAP Pop Music Awards

The longest-staying song on the Billboard Hot 100 singles is also the best song of 2009 for the American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP). Jason Mraz‘s chart-topping “I’m Yours,” the first single off his third studio album, “We Sing. We Dance. We Steal Things,” was honored with the song of the year at ASCAP’s 27th Pop Music Awards at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles.

Also taking top honors was Lukasz “Dr. Luke” Gottwald for Songwriter of the Year. Gottwald composed several hits in 2009, including Katy Perry’s “Hot N Cold,” Britney Spears’ “Circus,” Kelly Clarkson’s “My Life Would Suck Without You,” and “Party in the USA,” which was sang by Miley Cyrus.

Alternative band The Killers were also on hand to receive their Vanguard Award. ASCAP gives away the Vanguard Award to artists whose genres help shape American music. Patti Smith was honored with the Founders Award for her contribution to rock music. ASCAP said Smith’s “creative genius and rock n roll spirit will continue to inspire generations to come.”