Jerry Rice and Emmitt Smith Voted to Pro-Footbal Hall of Fame

Jerry Lee Rice was voted to become a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Saturday, February 6. He is joined by Russ Grimm, Rickey Jackson, John Randle, Dick LeBeau, Floyd Little and Emmitt Smith.Pro-Footbal-Hall-of-Fame

Rice is widely regarded as the greatest wide receiver ever and one of the greatest players in National Football League history. He is the all-time leader in every major statistical category for wide receivers. He still tops the records for most touchdowns with 208, pass receptions at 1,549 receiving yards at 22, 895 and most touchdowns in a single season with 22 in 1987.

He played for the following teams: San Francisco 49ers (1985–2000), Oakland Raiders (2001–2004), Seattle Seahawks (2004) and Denver Broncos (2005). For the Broncos he played during off-season and as a practice member only.

He was voted into the Hall of Fame during his first-ballot, that is, during his first year of eligibility. Players only qualify five years after they retire.

Joining him in entering the Hall at the first ballot is Emmitt Smith. He still holds the records for most carries at 4,409, most rushing yards at 18,355 and most rushing touchdowns at 164. He also holds the record for most rushing touchdowns during playoffs.

He played for Dallas Cowboys (1990-2002) and Arizona Cardinals (2003-2004).

Dick Le Beau and Floyd Little were elected as senior / old-timer nominee. These are given for players who retired at least 25 years ago.