Jerry Rice, Emmitt Smith Get NFL Hall of Fame Nod

Wide receiver Jerry Rice and running back Emmit Smith, two of the National Football League’s best players at least in the past twenty years have been named to the Hall of Fame. The two record holders were elected to the class of 2010 Hall of Fame along with offensive lineman Russ Grimm, defensive lineman John Randle, linebacker Rickey Jackson, running back Floyd Little, and cornerback Dick LeBeau.

The selection of Rice and Smith, who both may be considered the best players-ever in their positions, make many people consider this year’s batch the most well-selected in recent memory. Rice is the all-time leader in receiving yards while Smith holds the record for rushing yards. Both players have also won three Super Bowl titles each, and been named Most Valuable Player.

The ceremony will be held on August 7 in Ontario, Canada. A player must have been retired for at least five years to be eligible for a place in the Hall of Fame.