Michael Jackson, Aretha Franklin Enter Apollo Hall of Fame

michael-jacksonThe famed Apollo Theater in New York City is honoring two of the most iconic personalities in the history of pop music as it celebrates its 75th anniversary this year. Michael Jackson and Aretha Franklin, who each have become pillars of the music industry, will be inducted into the Apollo Hall of Fame in a ceremony on June 14.

It was at the Apollo that Jackson and his brothers were launched to stardom after they won the theater’s Amateur Night in the late 1960s. Franklin, recognized as the Queen of Soul, is expected to attend the ceremony to be held at the historic theater in Harlem.

Also to be honored on the same night are Marc Anthony and Jennifer Lopez, who will be recognized for their contribution to arts and humanitarian efforts.

Among those who have been inducted to the Apollo Hall of Fame in the past are Ella Fitzgerald, Quincy Jones, and Patti LaBelle.