• Home »
  • Sports »
  • Mayweather vs Ortiz: Ortiz Seeks to Inflict 1st Mayweather Loss

Mayweather vs Ortiz: Ortiz Seeks to Inflict 1st Mayweather Loss

Suggesting that he is better than all of the previous fighters that Floyd Mayweather Jr has faced, WBC welterweight champion Victor Ortiz said he will bring “change” to America come Saturday night when they clash at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Ortiz, who is a 7-1 underdog, vowed that the fight, Mayweather’s first since his May 2010 win over Shane Mosley, will not go the distance. “Saturday night I’m going to put you on your ass,” Ortiz told Mayweather Wednesday at a press conference to promote the fight. “America wants to see change, and change will come soon.”

Mayweather, who is 41-0 with 25 KOs and is known for his defense, said that he will be on the offensive once he climbs the ring on Saturday. “You guys don’t have to worry about me back-pedaling. I’m coming straight ahead, so hopefully he’s coming straight ahead,” he said.

Floyd MAYWEATHER vs Victor ORTIZ LIVE

Boxing Fight: WBC Welterweight Championship.
Fighters: Floyd ‘Money’ MAYWEATHER vs Victor ‘Vicious’ ORTIZ.
Fight Bill:’Star Power!’
Location: MGM Grand in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA.
Date: Saturday, September 17, 2011.
Start: 09:00PM (EDT, Eastern Daylight Time) / 06:00PM (PDT, Pacific Standard Time)
01:00AM (GMT+1 – United Kingdom) / 02:00 (GMT+2 – Western Europe)