Oscar Nominations Out: Avatar and The Hurt Locker Continue Stiff Competition

The nominees for the 82nd Academy Awards were announced today, February 2, at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills, California by actress Anne Hathaway and Academy President Tom Sherak.oscars

First difference is the number of films fighting for Best Picture, which is now doubled at ten. It was announced last June 24, 2009 by then Academy President Sid Ganis that there would be 10 nominees this year. The last time there were 10 nominees for the top plum was in 1943.

3D movie Up became the second animated motion picture to be nominated for Best Picture. The first one was Beauty and the Beast in 1991. It is also nominated for Best Animated Feature.

Interestingly enough, Avatar and The Hurt Locker lead the nomination with 9 apiece including Best Picture and Best Director. The two are in stiff competition as they keep outdoing each other from the award giving bodies that have already dished out accolades.

In the Best Director race, ex-married couple James Cameron and Kathryn Bigelow are battling again. If Bigelow wins, she will be the first woman who will be awarded the much coveted trophy. Another director, Lee Daniels , is also nominated. If he wins, he will be the first African American to claim the prize.

For the acting awards, the actors who are in a winning streak are all present. Up in the Air bagged three acting nominations.

The awarding ceremony will be held on March 7. It will be hosted by Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin.

The complete list of nominees is as follows:

Best Picture

  • Avatar
  • The Blind Side
  • District 9
  • An Education
  • The Hurt Locker
  • Inglourious Basterds
  • A Serious Man
  • Precious
  • Up
  • Up in the Air

Best Director

  • James Cameron – Avatar
  • Kathryn Bigelow – The Hurt Locker
  • Jason Reitman – Up in the Air
  • Lee Daniels – Precious
  • Quentin Tarantino – Inglourious Basterds

Best Actor

  • Jeff Bridges – Crazy Heart
  • George Clooney – Up in the Air
  • Colin Firth – A Single Man
  • Morgan Freeman – Invictus
  • Jeremy Renner – The Hurt Locker

Best Actress

  • Sandra Bullock – The Blind Side
  • Helen Mirren – The Last Station
  • Carey Mulligan – An Education
  • Gabourey Sidibe – Precious
  • Meryl Streep – Julie & Julia

Best Supporting Actor

  • Matt Damon – Invictus
  • Christopher Plummer – The Last Station
  • Christoph Waltz – Inglourious Basterds
  • Woody Harrelson – The Messenger
  • Stanley Tucci – The Lovely Bones

Best Supporting Actress

  • Penélope Cruz – Nine
  • Vera Farmiga – Up in the Air
  • Maggie Gyllenhaal – Crazy Heart
  • Anna Kendrick – Up in the Air
  • Mo’Nique – Precious

Best Original Screenplay

  • The Hurt Locker
  • Inglourious Basterds
  • The Messenger
  • A Serious Man
  • Up

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • District 9
  • An Education
  • In the Loop
  • Precious
  • Up in the Air

Best Animated Feature

  • Coraline
  • Fantastic Mr. Fox
  • Princess and the Frog
  • The Secret of Kells
  • Up

Best Foreign Language Film

  • The Milk of Sorrow (Peru) in Spanish
  • Ajami (Israel) in Hebrew
  • The White Ribbon (Austria) in German
  • A Prophet (France) in French
  • The Secret in Their Eyes (Argentina) in Spanish

Best Documentary Feature

  • Burma VJ – Anders Østergaard and Lise Lense-Møller
  • The Cove – Nominees to be determined
  • Food, Inc. – Robert Kenner and Elise Pearlstein
  • The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers – Judith Ehrlich and Rick Goldsmith
  • Which Way Home – Rebecca Cammisa

Best Documentary Short

  • China’s Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province – Jon Alpert andMatthew O’Neill
  • The Last Campaign of Governor Booth Gardner – Daniel Junge and Henry Ansbacher
  • The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant” – Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert
  • Music by Prudence – Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett
  • Rabbit à la Berlin” – Bartek Konopka and Anna Wydra

Best Live Action Short

  • The Door – Juanita Wilson and James Flynn
  • Instead of Abracadabra – Patrik Eklund and Mathias Fjellström
  • Kavi – Gregg Helvey
  • Miracle Fish – Luke Doolan and Drew Bailey
  • The New Tenants – Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson

Best Animated Short

  • French Roast – Fabrice O. Joubert
  • Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty – Nicky Phelan and Darragh O’Connell
  • The Lady and the Reaper (La Dama y la Muerte) – Javier Recio Gracia
  • Logorama – Nicolas Schmerkin
  • A Matter of Loaf and Death – Nick Park

Best Original Score

  • Avatar – James Horner
  • Fantastic Mr. Fox – Alexandre Desplat
  • The Hurt Locker – Marco Beltrami and Beck Sanders
  • Sherlock Holmes – Hans Zimmer
  • Up – Michael Giacchino

Best Original Song

  • “Almost There” from The Princess and the Frog – Randy Newman
  • “Down in New Orleans” from The Princess and the Frog – Randy Newman
  • “Loin de Paname” from Paris 36 – Reinhardt Wagner and Frank Thomas
  • “Take it All” from Nine – Maury Yeston
  • “Weary Kind” from Crazy Heart – Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett

Best Sound Editing

  • Avatar – Christopher Boyes and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle
  • The Hurt Locker – Paul N.J. Ottosson
  • Inglourious Basterds – Wylie Stateman
  • Star Trek – Mark Stoeckinger and Alan Rankin
  • Up – Michael Silvers and Tom Myers

Best Sound Mixing

  • Avatar – Christopher Boyes, Gary Summers, Andy Nelson and Tony Johnson
  • The Hurt Locker – Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett
  • Inglourious Basterds – Michael Minkler, Tony Lamberti and Mark Ulano
  • Star Trek – Anna Behlmer, Andy Nelson and Peter J. Devlin
  • Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen – Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers and Geoffrey Patterson

Best Art Direction

  • Avatar – Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg; Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair
  • The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus – Art Direction: Dave Warren and Anastasia Masaro; Set Decoration: Caroline Smith
  • Nine – Art Direction: John Myhre; Set Decoration: Gordon Sim
  • Sherlock Holmes – Art Direction: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer
  • The Young Victoria – Art Direction: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Maggie Gray

Best Cinematography

  • Avatar – Mauro Fiore
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – Bruno Delbonnel
  • The Hurt Locker – Barry Ackroyd
  • Inglourious Basterds – Robert Richardson
  • The White Ribbon – Christian Berger

Best Makeup

  • Il Divo (film)
  • Star Trek
  • The Young Victoria

Best Costume Design

  • Bright Star – Janet Patterson
  • Coco Before Chanel – Catherine Leterrier
  • The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus – Monique Prudhomme
  • Nine – Colleen Atwood
  • The Young Victoria – Sandy Powell

Best Film Editing

  • Avatar – James Cameron, John Refoua and Stephen E. Rivkin
  • District 9 – Julian Clarke
  • The Hurt Locker – Chris Innis and Bob Murawski
  • Inglourious Basterds – Sally Menke
  • Precious – Joe Klotz

Best Visual Effects

  • Avatar – Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones
  • Star Trek – Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh and Burt Dalton
  • District 9 – Dan Kaufman,Peter Muyzers, Robert Habros, and Matt Aitken