Peyton Manning wins fourth NFL MVP award

Denver Broncos v Indianapolis Colts

Peyton Manning won the National Football League’s Most Valuable Player Award for a record fourth time—his second NFL MVP honor in two consecutive years.

The Indianapolis Colts quarterback received 39.5 votes to 7.5 for Drew Brees of New Orleans. Only four players – all quarterbacks – earned votes. The other two were Philip Rivers of San Diego (2) and Brett Favre of Minnesota (1).

Manning previously won the award in 2003, 2004 and last season, breaking a tie with Favre at three MVPs. He passed for 4,500 yards with 33 touchdowns and 16 interceptions in leading Indianapolis to an NFL-best 14-2 record this term.