So You Think You Can Dance Sets Resident Judges

275px-So_You_Think_You_Can_DanceThe upcoming seventh season of So You Think You Can Dance will feature a new resident judge.

Choreographer and previous guest judge Mia Michaels will become the newest resident judge of the show alongside Nigel Lythgoe and Adam Shankman. Lythgoe has been resident judge since the show’s inception in the summer of 2005. Shankman joined in during the sixth season.

Michaels, has already won a Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Choreography in 2007 for the routine Calling You during the sixth week (top ten performances) of season 2 and performed by Heidi Groskreutz and Travis Wall.

Meanwhile, Mary Murphy, who was resident judge from seasons 3 to 6 will help judge during the auditions and then play as guest judge after. She will also do some choreography with the contestants.

Season seven will start May 27. The new season will have a different format. There will be ten finalists with only one eliminated each week. The contestants will be partnered with finalists from previous seasons.