Surprises Dominate 62nd Primetime Emmy Awards

primetime emmy awardThe 62nd Primetime Emmy Awards went underway Sunday, August 29, in its first live coast-to-coast broadcast since 1976.

Jimmy Fallon hosted this year’s ceremonies held at the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles, California.

Breaking Bad took home two acting awards for drama. One for third consecutive year Best Actor Bryan Cranston and a first time winner for Best Support Actor Aaron Paul. Kyra Sedgwick finally won an award for her work in The Closer. Mad Men took the Best Drama Series Award for the third straight year.

Jane Lynch was the only one among four acting nominations for Glee to win in the comedy categories. Edie Falco, who previously won three Best Actress Awards for Drama Series won this year’s Best Actress for a Comedy Series. Jim Parsons, a first time winner, stopped the two-year winning streak for Alec Baldwin for Best Actor. Modern Family beats out favorite Glee for Best Comedy Series. The win ended the three-year reign of 30 Rock.

Television film Temple Grandin won Best Made for Television Movie and all of its acting nominations.

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart knocked-out a victory from the controversial The Tonight Show with Conan O’Brien for variety series plum.

Top Chef finally ended the seven-year winning streak of The Amazing Race in the Reality-Competition Program plum. The Amazing Race has won the award ever since the inception of the category in 2003.

Here is the list of awards handed out during the event:

Outstanding Drama Series

Mad Men

Outstanding Comedy Series

Modern Family

Outstanding Miniseries

The Pacific

Outstanding Made for Television Movie

Temple Grandin

Outstanding Reality-Competition Program

Top Chef

Outstanding Music, Comedy or Variety Series

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart

Outstanding Music, Comedy or Variety Special

The Kennedy Center Honors

Outstanding Lead Actor – Drama Series

Bryan CranstonBreaking Bad

Outstanding Lead Actor – Comedy Series

Jim ParsonsThe Big Bang Theory

Outstanding Lead Actor – Miniseries or Movie

Al PacinoYou Don’t Know Jack

Outstanding Lead Actress – Drama Series

Kyra Sedgwick The Closer

Outstanding Lead Actress – Comedy Series

Edie Falco Nurse Jackie

Outstanding Lead Actress – Miniseries or Movie

Claire DanesTemple Grandin

Outstanding Supporting Actor – Drama Series

Aaron PaulBreaking Bad

Outstanding Supporting Actor – Comedy Series

Eric StonestreetModern Family

Outstanding Supporting Actor – Miniseries or Movie

David StrathairnTemple Grandin

Outstanding Supporting Actress – Drama Series

Archie PanjabiThe Good Wife

Outstanding Supporting Actress – Comedy Series

Jane LynchGlee

Outstanding Supporting Actress – Miniseries or Movie

Julia OrmondTemple Grandin

Outstanding Directing – Drama Series

Steve Hill Dexter

Outstanding Directing – Comedy Series

Ryan Murphy Glee

Outstanding Directing – Music, Comedy or Variety Special

Bucky Gunts – Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games Opening

Outstanding Writing – Drama Series

Matther Weiner and Erin Levy Mad Men

Outstanding Writing – Comedy Series

Steven Levitan and Christopher Lloyd Modern Family

Outstanding Writing – Miniseries or Movie

Adam Mazer You Don’t Know Jack

Outstanding Writing – Music. Comedy or Variety Special

Dave Boone and Paul Greenberg The 63rd Annual Tony Awards

Bob Hope Humanitarian Award

George Clooney