‘The Avengers’ Cast Announced

Jeremy_RennerThe rumors finally ended as the cast of the highly anticipated film The Avengers was finally announced.

The announcement came at the 2010 San Diego Comic Con International, Saturday, July 24.

Here’s the final cast :

  • Robert Downey Jr. as  Iron Man
  • Chris Evans as Captain America
  • Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow
  • Jeremy Renner as Hawkeye
  • Samuel Jackson as Nick Fury
  • Chris Hemsworth as Thor
  • Mark Ruffalo as Hulk

First among those finalized is that of Renner, 39, (pictured), who was nominated this year for an Academy Award for Best Actor in the critically-acclaimed and multi-awarded film The Hurt Locker. He clinched the role for Hawkeye.

Ruffalo’s announcement finally ended the saga of whether his role predecessor Edward Norton would really be not playing The Hulk.

The film will be directed by Joss Whedon, the executive producer and writer of Buffy: The Vampire Slayer and Angel television series.

Shooting for the Avengers will start spring of 2011. Target release date will be on May 4, 2012. Meanwhile, the films Thor and Captain America: The First Avenger are targeted to be released on May 6, 2011 and July 22, 2011 respectively.