‘The Hurt Locker’ Director Bigelow Beats Cameron at DGA Awards

The Hurt Locker director Kathryn Bigelow was given the Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film at the recently concluded Directors Guild of America Awards, becoming the first female to do so and beating out ex-husband and Avatar director James Cameron.

The DGA Awards are known to be particularly good predictors of who will proceed to win the equivalent Best Director prize at the Oscars. Since the DGA Awards began in 1948, only six  winners did not go on to emerge triumphant come Oscar night, the most recent one being Rob Marshall, who won the trophy for Chicago in 2002 but lost the Oscar honor to The Pianist‘s Roman Polanski. So, at this point along the road to the Academy Awards, with The Hurt Locker having been successful at the DGA and PGA Awards,  it’s a pretty safe bet that Bigelow will also make history as the first ever female to win the Oscars for Best Director.

The 62nd annual DGA Awards ceremony was hosted by actor/director Carl Reiner and presenters included The Hurt Locker lead star Jeremy Renner and last year’s big winner, Slumdog Millionaire director Danny Boyle.

Here’s the complete list of major winners:

  • Motion Picture: Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker
  • Documentary: Louie Psihoyos, The Cove
  • TV Drama Series: Lesli Linka Glatter, Mad Men
  • TV Comedy Series: Jason Winer, Modern Family
  • TV Movie: Ross Katz, Taking Chance
  • Musical Variety: Don Mischer, We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial
  • Reality TV: Craig Borders, Build It Bigger