2011 Oscars Winners: “The King’s Speech” Wins Oscar Best Picture

OscarsThe 83rd Academy Awards were held at the Kodak Theater in Los Angeles, California Sunday, February 27.

Films with multiple wins are The King’s Speech and Inception with four, The Social Network with three and Alice in Wonderland, The Fighter and Toy Story 3 with two.

The King’s Speech has the most nominations at twelve followed by True Grit at ten.

Best Actor nominee James Franco and Love and Other Drugs star Anne Hathaway were the hosts of the ceremonies. It’s the first hosting stint for the Oscars for the both of them. Hathaway, 28, became the youngest host for an Oscar Awards ceremony.

  • Best Picture – The King’s Speech
  • Best Director – Tom Hooper, The King’s Speech
  • Best Actor – Colin Firth, The King’s Speech
  • Best Actress – Natalie Portman, Black Swan
  • Best Supporting Actor – Christian Bale, The Fighter
  • Best Supporting Actress – Melissa Leo, The Fighter
  • Best Original Screenplay – David Seidler, The King’s Speech
  • Best Adapted Screenplay – Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network
  • Best Animated Feature – Toy Story 3
  • Best Foreign Language Film – In A Better World from Denmark
  • Best Feature Documentary – Inside Job
  • Best Short Subject Documentary – Strangers No More
  • Best Live Action Short Film – God of Love
  • Best Animated Short Film – The Lost Thing
  • Best Original Score – Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, The Social Network
  • Best Original Song – We Belong Together by Randy Newman from Toy Story 3
  • Best Sound Editing – Richard King, Inception
  • Best Sound Mixing – Lora Hirschberg, Gary A. Rizzo, and Ed Novick, Inception
  • Best Art Direction – Robert Stromberg (Art Direction) and Karen O’Hara (Set Direction), Alice in Wonderland
  • Best Cinematography – Wally Pfister, Inception
  • Best Makeup – Rick Baker and Dave Elsey, The Wolfman
  • Best Costume Design –Colleen Atwood, Alice in Wonderland
  • Best Film Editing – Angus Wall and Kirk Baxter, The Social Network
  • Best Visual Effects – Paul Franklin, Chris Corbould, Andrew Lockley, and Peter Bebb, Inception
  • Academy Honor Award – Kevin Brownlow, Jean-Luc Godard and Eli Wallach
  • Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award – Francis Ford Coppola