UPAA announces this year’s Distinguished Alumni Awardees

VP Jejomar Binay

Forty outstanding graduates and one alumni chapter of the University of the Philippines will receive recognition from the University of the Philippines Alumni Association (UPAA) for the year 2011. The award ceremonies will be held during the U.P. General Alumni-Faculty Homecoming & Reunion on June 25, 2010, 3:00 P.M. at the Ang Bahay ng Alumni, U.P. Diliman Campus, Quezon City .

The UPAA Distinguished Alumni Awards are conferred on alumni who have demonstrated in their chosen field of endeavor, extraordinary achievements and excellent contributions that bring about substantial benefits to society and distinct honor to the University. Recognition is given to achievements and contributions that impact the community in which the alumni are or have been active, whether this is at the local, national or international level.

This year’s UPAA Most Distinguished Alumni Awardee is the Vice President of the Philippines, Jesus Jose Martin “Jejomar” C. Binay, AB’62; LLB’67; DipLUP’93; and DipENRMgt’04.

Four alumni are being recognized for Lifetime Achievement: Ms. Araceli F. Limcaco-Dans, BFA’50; Mr. Jose R. Moreno, Jr., BFA’51; Prof. Corazon C. Generoso-Iñigo, BPE’51 and MS’90; and Dr. Baldomero M. Olivera, BS’60 scl and BSChem’61 mcl.

“Similar to what we did last year, the UPAA made a special effort to identify unsung alumni achievers — those whose accomplishments in little-known corners of the country are remarkable but have remained unheralded and unrecognized,” said Gladys Tiongco, UPAA President.

The other alumni awardees for outstanding achievement in various fields are: Dr. Danielito T. Franco, BSAE’68 (Agricultural Engineering); Ms. Luisita D. Cruz-Valdez, AB’81 and MA’89 (Broadcast Journalism); Dr. Rex B. Demafelis, MS’90 (Chemical Engineering); Ms. Teresita B. Ang-See, AB’71 (Community Empowerment and Responsibility); Dr. Robert H. Lo, DVM’83 (Community Service); Mr. Ricardo V. Zamora, GM’50 and BM’52 (Culture and the Arts: Music); Dr. Jimmuel C. Naval, AB’86, MA’92, and PhD’03 (Culture and the Arts); Ms. Grace Nono, AB’86 and MA’04 (Culture and the Arts: Contemporary Ethnic Music); Dr. Raul C. Navarro, BM’96 mcl, MM’99, and PhD’04 (Culture and the Arts); Mr. Jerrold V. Tarog, BM’02 (Culture and the Arts: Film); Prof. Alleli Ester C. Domingo, BSAM’78 cl and MS’83 (Education Innovation); Dr. Lino L. Dizon, MAT’86 and PhD’08 (Education and Innovation: History and Culture); Dr. Daniel S. Bolong, DVM’37 cl (Entrepreneurship and Employment Creation); Mr. Roberto P. Alingog, BSBA’71 and MBA’74 (Entrepreneurship and Employment Creation); Dr. Marita V.Tolentino-Reyes, AA’59 w/ honors, BS’61 cl and MD’64 (Good Governance); Vice-Gov.Deogracias Victor B. Savellano, AB’81 (Good Governance); Dr. Francisca A. Tolete-Velcek, BS’62 and MD’66 (Global Health and Medical Education); Dr. Eliseo L. Prisno III, BS’89 cl and MD’97 (Maritime Health / Global Health); Dr. Jose C. Gatchalian, AB’60, MA’75, CGM’75 and PhD’90 (Labor Management Cooperation for Industrial Peace and Harmony); Ms. Lourdes C. Santos-Rivera, BSHE’59 (Poverty Alleviation and Human Development); Ms. Ma.Isabel S. Echanis-Melgar, AB’75 (Public Health Promotion); Prof. Fortunato T. dela Peña, BSChE’69 and MS’76 (Public Service); Usec. Teodoro J. Herbosa, BS’79 cl and MD’83 (Public Service); Dr. Cristina P. Parel, BSE’35 cl (Science and Technology); Dr. Arcelia A. Alejar, BSA’58, (hon.curr.) and MS’70 (Science and Technology); Sec. Mario G. Montejo, BSME’74 (Science and Technology); Dr. Danilo C. Cardenas, BSA’75 and PhD’97 (Science and Technology); Dr. Bonifacio F. Comandante, Jr., BSAE’78 (Science and Technology); Engr. Ramon P. Ramirez, BSEE’66 (Social Cohesion); Dr. June Caridad C. Pagaduan-Lopez, BS’72 and MD’76 (Social Cohesion); and Dr. Josefina R. Almonte, BS’67, MD’72, and MHProfEd’96 (Women Empowerment).

“Special awards will also be given to individuals or groups who have rendered excellent service in the pursuit of the goals of the University and the Association,” added Tiongco.

This year’s UPAA Distinguished Service Award for alumni goes to Dr. Raymund L. Liongson, PhD’85 and Mr. Conrado Ong III, BM’05 mcl.

The UPAA of Australia-New South Wales Chapter will receive the UPAA Distinguished Service Award for alumni chapter.

UPAA’s Special Recognition Awardees are Ms. Shamcey G. Supsup, BSArch’08 mcl, for bagging this year’s Binibining Pilipinas Universe title; and Mr. John Gabriel P. Pelias, BSMath’11 scl, for achieving a grade weighted average of 1.016, the highest in U.P. in 65 years.

For inquiries on the U.P. Grand Faculty and Alumni Homecoming and Reunion, please contact the UPAA Secretariat at landline numbers 9206871, 9206868, 9206875, e-mail upalum@yahoo.com.ph, or cellular phone number 09178372098.