Winners of the 19th FIFA World Cup Awards

thomas_mullerSpain has now become the eighth nation to capture a FIFA World Cup title. But aside from that it has won two of the special awards being given in every staging of the competition.

The Spanish national team also took home the FIFA Fair Play Trophy which is given to the team with the best fair play record during a tournament. Aside for a trophy, the team gets a diploma, a fair play medal for each player and official, and $50,000 worth of football equipment to be used for the country’s youth development. They actually tied with Brazil for the same award in 2006.

Other recipients of special awards are as follows:

  • Golden Ball – Diego Forlan of Uruguay
    • Silver Ball Wesley Sneijder of Netherlands
    • Bronze Ball – David Villa of Spain
  • Golden Boot – Thomes Muller (pictured) of Germany
    • Silver Boot – David Villa of Spain
    • Bronze Boot – Wesley Sneijder 0f Netherlands
  • Golden Glove Iker Casillas of Spain
  • Best Young Player – Thomas Muller (pictured) of Germany (age:20)

After winning the Best Young Player, Mueller exclaimed, “The honour will be with me for all time.”

Two awards, Most Entertaining Team and the All-Star Team are yet to be announced.

Spain won its first World Cup Sunday, July 11. It was their first appearance in a World Cup final. They defeated Netherlands, who lost their third World Cup finals.

The Dutch now have the most number of runner-up titles without winning the top place. Only Germany has more which is 4 but it has won the Cup thrice already. Alongside its four third place finishes and one fourth place finish, the German team has the most placements in the tournament, which is 12. Of course, Brazil holds the most world cup titles at 5.