2010 Atlanta NASCAR Sprint Cup: Kobalt Tools 500 (UPDATED)

2010 Nascar Sprint Cup Kobalt Tools 500 Live Stream

NASCAR Sprint Cup: Motor sports enthusiasts should have a great afternoon at Atlanta Motor Speedway, site of today’s Kobalt Tools 500.

Atlanta is considered one of the fastest non-restrictor plate tracks on the circuit. The Cup series will race in front of 124,000 on turns banked at 24 degrees, and straights with a slight bank of five degrees.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. will be on the pole for the first time in nearly two years–giving the 35-year-old from North Carolina another reason to believe that he’s left behind the most dismal season of his career.

Earnhardt, who hadn’t won a pole since April 2008 at Texas Motor Speedway, won with a lap of 192.761 mph. Friday, and his run in his Chevrolet was faster than any of the pole-winning speeds for any Sprint Cup race last year.

“It’s good to be on the pole and I’m real proud of it,” Junior said. “Getting a pole anywhere is good for our team. We’re so hungry to do well on Sunday.”

Last year, Dodge’s Kurt Busch simply dominated, putting up a rare perfect driver rating and taking the victory by a little more than 0.3 seconds over Jeff Gordon of Chevrolet.

So, who do you think will win this time?

The 330 lap affair is scheduled to start at 1:00 p.m. ET on Fox. But if you can’t get to a TV, don’t fret. You can watch the Kobalt Tools 500 live online here.


1. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chevrolet, 192.761 mph
2. Kyle Busch, Toyota, 192.280 mph
3. Juan Pablo Montoya, Chevrolet, 192.106 mph
4. Mark Martin, Chevrolet, 191.814mph
5. Jeff Gordon, Chevrolet, 191.774 mph
6. Kasey Kahne, Ford, 191.688 mph
7. Ryan Newman, Chevrolet, 191.549 mph
8. Elliott Sadler, Ford, 191.436 mph
9. David Reutimann, Toyota, 191.186 mph
10. Carl Edwards, Ford, 191.087 mph
11. Kurt Busch, Dodge, 191.054 mph
12. Marcos Ambrose, Toyota, 190.935 mph
13. Greg Biffle Ford, 190.850 mph
14. Matt Kenseth, Ford, 190.791 mph
15. Tony Stewart, Chevrolet, 190.692 mph
16. Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet, 190.640 mph
17. David Ragan, Ford, 190.574 mph
18. Clint Bowyer, Chevrolet, 190.561 mph
19. Martin Truex Jr., Toyota, 190.548 mph
20. Denny Hamlin, Toyota, 190.424 mph
21. Bobby Labonte, Chevrolet, 190.267 mph
22. Jeff Burton, Chevrolet, 190.221 mph
23. Paul Menard, Ford, 189.987 mph
24, Jamie McMurray, Chevrolet, 189.915 mph
25. AJ Allmendinger, Ford, 189.857 mph
26. Brian Vickers, Toyota, 189.798 mph
27. Dave Blaney, Toyota, 189.590 mph
28. Brad Keselowski, Dodge, 189.571 mph
29. Joey Logano, Toyota, 189.189 mph
30. Mike Bliss, Chevrolet, 189.144 mph
31. Max Papis, Toyota, 189.112 mph
32. Scott Speed, Toyota, 189.079 mph
33. Joe Nemechek, Toyota, 189.060 mph
34. Bill Elliott, Ford, 189.021 mph
35. Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet, 189.015 mph
36. Sam Hornish Jr., Dodge, 188.970 mph
37. Michael McDowell, Toyota, 188.354 mph
38. David Gilliland, Ford, 188.341 mph
39. Regan Smith, Chevrolet, 187.958 mph
40. Robby Gordon, Toyota, 186.403 mph
41. Travis Kvapil, Ford, 185.430 mph
42. Kevin Conway, Ford, 184.812 mph
43. Boris Said, Ford, 182.916 mph

UPDATE: Kurt Busch survived two overtime restarts to win the Kobalt Tools 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway for the second year in a row. Matt Kenseth was second by .483 of a second. Juan Montoya came home third and Kasey Kahne and Paul Menard rounded out the top-5.