Henrik Sedin Wins NHL MVP, Denies Ovechkin of 3-Peat

For the first time in three years, the NHL Most Valuable Player is not someone named Alex Ovechkin. Vancouver Canucks alternate captain Henrik Sedin was named the NHL MVP on Wednesday, stopping Ovechkin’s bid for a third-straight Hart Trophy.

Sedin had 46 first-place votes to the 40 of Ovechkin, the Washington Capitals captain. Sedin had a total of 894 points against Ovechkin’s 834. Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins finished in third place with 20 first-place votes.

Ovechkin, however, did not go home empty handed from the NHL Awards Night in Las Vegas, as he was voted by his peers as the best player of the season, giving him the Ted Lindsay AWard.

“You play against the guys, and when they vote for you, it’s the most important thing,” said Ovechkin, who failed to become the first player to win the Hart Trophy three-straight years since the great Wayne Gretzky did the trick. Gretzky was the NHL MVP from 1980 to 1987.