Johnson Sprints to Historic Fourth Straight NASCAR Title

Jimmie Johnson needed only to place 25th to gain his fourth straight NASCAR Sprint Cup Series title, but was not content with that and instead opted to win history records in style. He finished 5th place behind Denny Hamlin and shouted “How ’bout some history?” as he crossed the finish line.NASCAR Homestead Auto Racing

He was still ranked at 23rd position by Lap 121 out 267. He started climbing the list with 65 laps still remaining in the race. He placed 5th with 11 laps still remaining.  He wanted to race out the leader but he was told by his crew chief Chad Knaus not to and to remain cruising nice and smoothly.

He now alone holds the record of most number of consecutive wins after breaking the three straight wins a piece with Cale Yarborough.

This season covered 36 races over 10 months.

2009 Raybestos Rookie of the Year awardee Joey Logano became the youngest driver to claim the honor after winning 26 out of 35 races in the freshman class.