UEFA Euro 2012 Draw Released

The groupings for the qualifying round of the UEFA Euro 2012 have been released, with defending champion Spain expected to have its hands full in Group I. The Spanish team will have to hurdle the Czech Republic, Scotland, Lithuania, and Liechtenstein for a place in the final.

Germany, which lost to Spain in the 2008 final, will face former finalist Belgium, Turkey, Kazakhstan, and Azerbaijan in Group A. Meanwhile, England, which is embroiled in a controversy with the sacking of John Terry as captain, will face off with Wales, Montenegro, Bulgaria, and Switzerland in Group G. Top seeded France, on the other hand, drew Romania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Belarus, Albania, and Luxembourg.

The qualifying round starts in September and ends November next year. The top teams in each group along with the best runner up automatically get places in the next round. The eight remaining runners up in the group stages will fight for the last four tickets to the next round. Euro 2012 is jointly hosted by Poland and Ukraine. The final stage of the tournament will take place between June 8 and July 12 2012.