We Are The World Remake for Haiti

A remake of the song We are the World was performed by about 81 stars for the benefit of the earthquake victims in Haiti–25 years after the original version was recorded by 43 artists that became collectively known as USA for Africa.We-Are-the-World-alternative-cover

This anniversary project was quietly planned for several months now with the actual recording scheduled the day after the 52nd Grammy Awards to maximize celebrity availability. The original aim was for Africa but it was changed after the January 12 tremor that hit the Caribbean nation.

The new single will premier during the opening ceremonies of the Vancouver Winter Olympics on February 12.

Among those who performed include:

  • Pink
  • Lil Wayne
  • Kanye West
  • Nick Jonas
  • LL Cool J
  • Robin Thicke
  • Celine Dion
  • Akon
  • Rob Thomas
  • Wyclef Jean
  • Jeff Bridges
  • Vince Vaughn
  • Barbra Streisand
  • Jordin Sparks
  • Good Charlotte’s Madden Brothers
  • Tony Bennett
  • Josh Groban
  • Snoop Dogg
  • Justin Bieber
  • Jennifer Hudson
  • Keri Hilson
  • Jamie Foxx
  • Tyrese
  • Katharine McPhee
  • Sean Garrett
  • Will.i.am
  • Brandy
  • Carlos Santana
  • Melanie Fiona
  • Enrique Iglesias
  • Toni Braxton
  • Jason Mraz
  • Miley Cyrus
  • Busta Rhymes
  • Nicole Scherzinger
  • Nicole Richie
  • Usher
  • Julianne Hough
  • Raphael Saadiq
  • Zac Brown Band
  • India.Arie
  • Randy Jackson
  • Musiq Soulchild
  • Heart’s Ann and Nancy Wilson
  • Fonzworth Bentley
  • Kid Cudi
  • Iyaz
  • Bizzy Bone
  • Nipsey Hussle
  • The Beach Boys’ Brian Wilson and Al Jardine
  • Trey Songz
  • Faith Evans
  • Mya
  • Gladys Knight
  • T-Pain
  • Harry Connick, Jr.

Other artists will be confirmed in an official press release. It was reported that Prince Jackson and Paris Jackson might be included in the recording.

The original version sold 20 million units earning 63 million dollars. It reached the status for a quadruple platinum award. It was written by Lionel Ritchie and Michael Jackson.